Bengaluru | 2nd December 2019: The iTEC India 2019 Hackathon finale, with the 10 finalists, was judged by an eminent panel of jurists including Mr. Girish Ramaswamy, Head of Systems Engineering, Continental Automotive & Organizing Committee Chair – iTEC India 2019, Dr. Arun Kumar Sampath, Chief Engineer and Head Innovation & Global Technology Centre at Mahindra Electric Mobility Limited, MC Member & Chairman, Branding & Communications Board, SAEINDIA and Dr. Neelakantan, Senior General Manager – Technical, 3M India.

Team Praxians - iTEC India Hackathon 2019 Winners.
Team Praxians – iTEC India Hackathon 2019 Winners.

The final 10 teams, which were shortlisted from over 90 applicants, included a mix of startups, students and professionals discussing their solutions to the six problem statements on electric vehicles, ranging from mobility and safety to sustainability and efficiency for the ecosystem.

Addressing the participants, Dr. Arun Sampath, Mahindra Electric said  “We have deliberately oriented the problem statements more towards the community”. “We are very impressed with the participants and happy to see the enthusiasm here today as well”

The winner of the first edition of iTEC India Hackathon was the team Praxians, which presented a solution for the problem statement – Making Energy Efficient EVs of the future.
The winners have been chosen based on a decision taken from the jury selected by ITEC India 2019 and will receive a prize of INR 1,00,000. The runner up team Safety First, which presented the solution to the problem statement “Safer the better: How do we make future of EVs a safer mode of transport”, won INR 50,000.

During the closing note, Mr. Girish Ramaswamy, SAE announced that both winner and runner- up teams will be given an opportunity to present their solution during iTEC India Conference in front of CXOs of leading automotive and technology giants.

iTEC Hackathon aimed to provide a platform for people to expose and promote their unique thoughts and innovative ideas to address the shift to electric vehicles and the general electrification of the Indian transport system. iTEC India Hackathon also wants to publicize and promote innovation in the Indian transport sector, providing a platform for the public to ease conversations on the major challenges faced by the industry.

The ten-member jury panel consisted of Dr. Arun Sampath, Mahindra Electric, Girish Ramaswamy, Vitesco Technologies, Satish Rajagopalan, Head Business Strategy, Marketing & Communications, Mahindra Electric, Lakshmi Narasimhan , Director Business Consulting BT India Dassault Systems, Rashmi Gopala Rao, Industry Manager Automotive, MathWorks India, Shitalkumar Joshi, Head, Electronics Application Engineering, ANSYS, Dr. Neelankantan, 3M, Sindhu Kashyap, YourStory, Bharat Hegde, Innovation Manager, Continental, and Sreelakshmi Narasimhan, Innovation Manager, Continental.